$12 Doritos?

I received some shopping tips from someone who was just in Shanghai for the past 3 months for the Expo. She told me where to get products I may be  familiar with such as frozen meals (think they have Lean Cuisine?!) and chips. I was psyched… then she mentioned Doritos cost $12 US! Goodness. I wonder if there is a Chinese generic equivalent to Doritos available. Like how Target has the Archer Farms brand or Walmart Sam’s Choice.  I don’t eat Doritos often I think the last time I had them was on a road trip to Hilton Head in January. I think I am now Doritos obsessed.  I think I may need a bag to get my fix before I go for I can’t imagine paying $12 a bag. I bet I am going to be craving those darn things when over there.  Curse you fancy import items such as Doritos, who would have guessed it. Wonder what Funyuns or Combos go for?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rick
    Sep 02, 2010 @ 07:11:17

    Your friend is right! The familiar US brands are quite pricey at places like City Shop. There are several Lotus Super Centers around that offer much cheaper alternatives. Also check out the Metro Super Center. Very good deals even on the imported stuff!

    Reply

  2. Dennis
    Sep 02, 2010 @ 07:58:29

    Of course there is always the portable barbecue on most corners, as an alternative. You won’t find any “Sabret” umbrellas, but buyer beware …

    Reply

Leave a Reply

