Shoe Whore

Todd for years now has called me a shoe whore. I guess it you are going to be a whore a shoe whore is not a bad way choice. One ambitious thing I did right after signing the contract was to go through my closet and dresser and sort. Here is the filter I used:

  • Would I wear this in Shanghai? If no, donate pile, if yes, add to take pile and see next question
  • Would I pay to ship it over? If yes, take pile, If no, donate
  • If I didn’t take it, would I really want to wear it in 3 years from now? If no, donate

Initial round of sorting results: 5 large trash bags of clothing and 13 pairs of shoes donated to Goodwill.

I didn’t touch packing again until the day I flew out to LAX for the 1/2 marathon, talk about waiting until the last minute. I found at property control large black duffel bags. I purchased 2. Good thing is since they were aired out already and didn’t have that awful new luggage, plastic chemical smell. I know you know the one I am talking about, walk by a luggage kiosk at the mall or at Wal-mart and you can smell it.

The filter used for packing on this day:

  • A items= being packed and taken in the large black bags
  • B items=being shipped to China. (Coats, shoes, sweaters, items I can be without for 30 days)
  • D=Donate ( I decided to skip filter C, skipping order seems to be the thing to do)

Packing Stats:

Total bags=4. Weighing approx. 45lbs each.Bag 1-3 clothes, shoes, and other random items throw in. Bag 4 a printer, router, and other electronics.

Donate=An additional 3  bags of items and 17 pairs of shoes.

Shipped=  Once I find apartment, Todd will ship 4 boxes. 2 are clothes and 1 is books and misc items and the other shoes. The shipping company dropped off boxes and tape at the house. Once packed and addressed, they pick them up at the house and deliver to my apartment in China.

I am pleased to report, all the bags made it to China and I didn’t have any TSA notices in my bags, which is surprising with all the random stuff in them. I am also happy to know all my bags, and Todd fit into a taxi. This will be important when I move to my apartment by myself and not have to make multiple trips.

Rebecca’s Packing Tips (or at least how I did it):

  • Packed jewelry in little plastic bags found in the craft section of stores
  • Put perfume bottles in socks
  • Opened printer box and shoved items inside and around
  • Used storage bags (quart and gallon size) to compartmentalized items

I brought 17 pairs of shoes with me to China in my luggage. 🙂

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amy Chastain
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 19:33:08

    What size shoe do you wear? If we were the same size I could have given them a good home. Love the post thus far. Glad you made it safe!!

    Reply

    • Rebecca
      Sep 09, 2010 @ 15:30:27

      I am a 8. I hope that is not your size. I had some great ones. Todd said he never cared how much the shoes cost as long as they didn’t hurt my feet. 🙂 I took advantage of that but I didn’t have any Louboutin lets be real.. however I think I may be able to get some over here… I will be on a hunt in a few weeks.

      Reply

  2. Lisa
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 19:47:21

    I would have gladly taken your shoes!! I am a purse whore but happy to add shoe whore to my list!

    I am lovin reading your blog!! You are such a brave person I could never do what you have. Done.

    Can’t wait to read more!

    Lisa

    Reply

    • Rebecca
      Sep 09, 2010 @ 15:28:11

      Oh my gosh, I am a purse whore too. I didn’t bring any purses over with me, I expect to buy them here and oh my goodness there are so many and shoes. They all swear they have my size, 38. I haven’t tried any one yet….

      Reply

  3. clarissa
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 21:05:07

    I love this and it looks really nice!
    Great Job! Miss you soooo much.

    Clarissa

    Reply

Leave a Reply

