Crossing The Street Part II

I wouldn’t say I am an expert yet by any means at crossing the streets  but I am getting a little more comfortable with it. Don’t like it… but it is what it is. I have been told to NOT make eye contact with the drivers for that as an invitation for them to go. I also learned that if a driver, let me be specific, a driver of a car, hits a pedestrian or bike, big trouble, they are responsible and who knows what else happens. I don’t want to find out.  Todd shared a stat with me from the Expo he learned that the #2 cause of death in China is from smoking, everyone smokes here and the #1… accidents. I can believe it, however since I have been here I have only seen 1 fender bender between 2 mopeds and I just saw them discussing it.

I did get to walk against a light with some office mates and it felt good! Take that cars, bikes, and mopeds, your light is green and I am running it. Felt good. Don’t know if or when I will do it on my own, I feel safe with the Chinese.. they will probably not hit one of their own, but a foreigner.. maybe, so why risk it.

So a new challenge emerged. A cab dropped me off on one side of the street and I had to go to the other. I find the cross walk, look up, and there is no light! What do you do when there is no light and there is no breaks in traffic, OMG! I followed a lady across but still have no idea how to do it. I go to that center again tomorrow so I am sure I will have to figure something out to cross or wait for someone else to come along.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Estalene Morgan
    Sep 15, 2010 @ 18:53:11

    good luck crossing the street practice makes perfect.

    Reply

  2. Amy Chastain
    Sep 15, 2010 @ 19:17:37

    Love reading about your day!!! Keep ’em coming….

    Reply

    • Rebecca
      Sep 15, 2010 @ 21:24:23

      Thanks Amy. I am sure there will be plenty more each day is an adventure. Like when I tried to use the ATM to take out money yesterday… I kept putting in the dollar amount and it would clear.. I did this like 5 times, couldn’t figure it out and then realized I was hitting cancel instead of accept… uggh!

      Reply

  3. angela
    Sep 15, 2010 @ 19:40:16

    I was trying to call you at grandmas house. I will try this weekend. Love you angela

    Reply

Leave a Reply

