Hailing a Cab

Although I love the metro, and have had one solid week of it, I think I can get use to taking a cab…it is very inexpensive, it costs under $2 to get to most placed I need to go, no stairs, walking through a mall,  no pushing, starring, it is nice. In the US,  many spend more than that on tolls driving to work and then gas.

I hailed my 1st cab all by myself. Previous cab journeys I provided the doorman with where I wanted to go either on my phone or a piece of paper with the address on it or a co-worker did it.  My office building has a doorman that will get a cab for you.

I was in an area with no doorman… so I was on my own to get a cab. To hail a cab you put you arm up in the air like in many cities and then wave you hand from the wrist to the fingers. palm facing down.  It reminds me of ladies when we get engaged and we show others our ring and we wave our fingers, like that but the whole hand and more movement. Like shooing flies but with your palm facing down. I caught me a cab today!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Denise Jean
    Sep 16, 2010 @ 20:30:06

    Did you have to cross the street after your cab ride??

    Reply

    • Rebecca
      Sep 17, 2010 @ 19:31:11

      Yes! Sometimes for they drop you off on the other side of the street, if it is a one way street (there is really no such thing….it is like a walk signal or a stop light.. no such thing) or if they approached the address from the opposite side, it is ok, I am learning.

      Reply

  2. Tracy
    Sep 16, 2010 @ 23:08:42

    Hey Rebecca,
    Great description on the hail taxi wave! I’m enjoying reading about all your adventures, thank you and keep having fun. Tracy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

