These Shoes Aren’t Made For Walking

The shoes I have brought are not made for walking the streets of Shanghai. I have been at work 4 days now, 2 out of the 4 days, I wore a pair to get to work and at work changed, 2 days I wore my “comfy” heels. I declare there is no such thing. My feet are proof of it. I am done with that.I am now going to have to be some of “those” who wear their business attire and comfy shoes, a fashion faux paux but then again.. fashion here is different, I could well be the height of it.

It is not the shoes and the distance walking in them, it is the sidewalks and streets themselves. They are uneven, concrete, stone, brick, other, curbs are like a half a foot high and then there is this strip of raised stuff that runs everywhere, even in the metro station. The line I believe is for folks who are sight impaired to follow. I can’t imagine walking on it for it hurts you feet, and in heels and other shoes, it is hazard.

An aid for some, a hazard for most

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Shelli Browning
    Sep 16, 2010 @ 20:57:44

    Smartest thing I ever did – give up on fashion to wear “sensible shoes.” Once you do it, you’ll never go back!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

