Rethinking Great Wall Marathon

After my latest 1/2 marathon out in Disneyland I was getting psyched to do the Great Wall Marathon before I leave China.  I have been recruiting folks for it.  inviting them to come to China, we will do this as a group, make shirts,  it will be fun. After WALKING up the Great Wall recently, I can’t imagine running, there is no running, there is barely walking, it is so steep. However, I am not bailing on the notion of the challenge, I think I have changed my expectations and commitment to do at least the 5k. If anyone is interested in doing the 5k or brave enough to tackle the 1/2 of the full… let me know and what year… 2012 or 2013, it is usually in May.

Here is the link to the site: Great Wall Marathon

There are also ones in Shanghai & Hong Kong if any of you sporty ones want to come over!

Up the Great Wall.. Steep...

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rick
    Sep 23, 2010 @ 07:10:34

    An opinion – considering the time and money one has to invest to get there even from a local standpoint you should go for the half. You do get to run on part of the wall for the 5K but you are sequestered to a small area and have to hang around until the end of the marathon anyway. If you do at least the half you get to get out and run through some of the surrounding villages. My son Brian and I did the full, which nearly killed me, but I am glad we did. I do recommend the Shanghai marathon or half. completely flat and well orgnaized…………well at least by chinese standards.

    Reply

    • Rebecca
      Sep 23, 2010 @ 10:26:36

      OK Rick… I appreciate your thoughts and may reconsider… you have yet to steer me wrong 🙂 You want to come over and do it again??

      Reply

  2. Mike
    Sep 23, 2010 @ 08:25:38

    I’m still up for the full. I may not be reading the map correctly but it looks like a good chunk of the race is not on the wall. I was looking at the Beijing Marathon as well. That happens in May and looks pretty flat.

    Reply

    • Rebecca
      Sep 23, 2010 @ 10:25:38

      Talking to someone today who is training for the Shanghai one in 2 months. She did Beijing and said it was great. Come on over.. Rick, who did the full said to do it.. he has not steered me wrong yet with anything Chinese… I may reconsider… Lets get the tri-team out!

      Reply

  3. Rick
    Sep 23, 2010 @ 11:04:27

    To address Mikes point only about 8 K of the race is actually on the Wall. You get some in the beginning and some at the end. Though only 8k it is a quite challenging section. Good fun though and you will be glad you did it.

    Reply

  4. Mike
    Sep 23, 2010 @ 11:23:49

    I’m sure 8k on that wall will be a serious challenge but it sounds really exciting. I guess I can start training on the stairs at the Contemporary!

    Reply

    • Rebecca
      Sep 24, 2010 @ 11:17:26

      Rick has done it so he knows. Stairs sound good…. it is something else.. how steep it is. Beijing marathon I hear is pretty cool too for you run the same route as they did for the Olympics.

      Reply

  5. Shelli Browning
    Sep 23, 2010 @ 12:38:56

    How about I stay ensconced in my comfy living room with my feet up in fuzzy slippers and I cheer you all on?? ;o)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

