My 1st Written Chinese Character

There have been many Chinese Characters… so I wanted to make sure I specified I am talking about a written character.

I need kitchen knives, all I have are butter knives and that is not going to cut watermelon or other things I need to cut. After seeing the ban on knives in IKEA I wondered if they are sold anywhere in this town. I searched the E-Mart by the apartment and I couldn’t find any then I thought, maybe like at IKEA they are locked up and require an ID to purchase. I looked up how to say and write “knife” in Chinese, how to say it is very quick and short, I wasn’t getting it, so I went with writing the character on the back of my shopping list. I went into E-Mart, and showed a sales lady my shopping list and she shook her head no and then I think said the store is too small, it is a mini E-mart I guess. I was so proud!

Also at the store, I was getting ingredients together for fried noodles with vegetables. One of the ingredients is rice vinegar. I went to the bottle aisle and found some rice vinegar, I knew it was rice vinegar for it said so in English on the bottle. This a woman was staring at me, well that is what it felt like for that is what happens all the time. She then went to the shelf and took down another bottle and handed it to me and gave me a thumbs up, then showed me some words on the bottle in Chinese. This bottle does not have any English on it, I have no idea if it is rice vinegar but I went with it, she is Chinese, she has to know what is good.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bette Schmitt
    Oct 12, 2010 @ 20:33:47

    You must be getting to be such a good cook. Did you ever get a knife? I love reading your blogs!!!! Beautiful fall day here today. what is the weather like? Love bette

    Reply

    • Rebecca
      Oct 16, 2010 @ 19:13:29

      Oh Bette, I don’t cook..However they do have cooking classes I have seen advertised really inexpensively. I may go check it out one of these days.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

