Hairy Crabs- I Don’t Eat Seafood..But It’s River Food

Went to Suzhou, which is outside of Shanghai for a meeting and it was Hairy Crab season. They are a specialty in this area from the Yanhcheng Lake. They are given the name from the patch of hair that grows on the bottom of its claws.

My co-workers were very excited about the hairy crabs and asked if I have ever had them. We were having them at lunch. I said no and politely shared that I do not eat seafood. I was then told that they are “not from the sea, they are from the river. They are river food.” I know.. you think it is a punch line, followed by a wokka wokka, drum, or gong…  but there wasn’t.. they were serious. I think I need to start saying I don’t eat anything that comes out of the water…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shelli Browning
    Oct 14, 2010 @ 20:29:14

    Argh! I think you’ve put me off seaf…uh, river food, too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

