Drunk to Death Crab & Squirrel Fish

Squirrel Fish

Squirrel Fish

I was back in Suzhou, home of the river/lake food hairy crabs. No longer being hairy crab season, I was introduced to new dishes in Suzhou, which I didn’t eat but took photos of for us all to enjoy. The presentation is pretty amazing on the 1st one, the squirrel fish. I am told it is called a squirrel fish because it looks like a squirrel. I don’t see the resemblance. I even pulled up a photo of a squirrel to show a co-worker to make sure squirrel was the same that I was thinking of and not something else. It is the same, oh well I don’t get it.  In addition to the hairy crabs, Suzhou is known for the squirrel fish and it is pretty amazing to look at. Those are green cherries for the eyes.

Drunk to Death Crab (Raw)

Next is the drunk to death crab. The crab is put in alcohol where it drinks itself to death, or as I see it, drowns to death and then is served, raw. I have heard this is done with shrimp as well and may be done at your table and you watch them “drink” to death.This crab was served already drunk, thank goodness.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shelli Browning
    Nov 07, 2010 @ 20:21:09

    Oh dear…I can see why becoming a vegetarian in China might be a desirable thing. I think I’d rather eat squirrel than a squirrel fish. I don’t like it when my dinner is looking back at me. Even with cherries for eyes.

    Reply

  2. Manzhi
    Nov 11, 2010 @ 00:16:00

    Actually the squirrel fish is very delicious. It’s deep fried fish then pour over sweet and sour sauce , taste like sweet and sour chicken or pork . Try it at China Pavilion in Epcot or the other chinese buffet.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

