Pizza Toaster Oven Lesson No. 1

Toaster Oven Pizza

I am becoming quite the expert at pizza toaster oven cooking. After all it is really just a bigger version of an Easy Bake Oven.  Forgot taking over for Anthony Bourdain, which is a good plan to deviate from since he stopped smoking an all, it could be a while. I could do a show on toaster oven cooking. I think it could be a hit with college students and single folks. My latest creation, toaster oven veggie pizza. Not bad looking, huh?

It comes with its own set of challenges, the biggest, cheese. Cheese is not a Chinese thing. Can anyone think of a Chinese dish that has cheese? You can buy cheese but it is often imported and with that comes with its import price tag. A block of Land 0 Lakes cheese costs almost $5.  A bag of shredded cheese, costs almost $9. I refuse to pay more for shredded so I buy the block and decided I was going to shred it myself. How do you shred mozzarella, it is a very soft cheese, it makes a mess and too much work. I was not successful at it and as I thinly sliced the mozzarella, said I will break down and pay more for the shredded next time. Guess what? It melted nicely! Now there is no need for the shredded! There is pizza toaster oven style lesson number 1.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nicolejhorne
    Mar 13, 2013 @ 15:21:41

    Hi Rebecca,

    I’m fairly new to Shanghai and unfortunately am living in an apt without an oven. In searching online for where to buy a toaster oven in Shanghai, I stumbled upon your blog. Your posts are very funny and resonate with my experience here so far! Can you recommend a place to buy a toaster oven?

    Thank you 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

