1st Time Running on Streets

It is not an April 1 joke.. the gym is closed today. It is always closed on the 1st of the month. I finally figured out the pattern… but I still got dressed this morning and headed to it. On my way I realized it is April 1, crap it is closed. It is a beautiful morning here so I said I will walk around the block, my walk turned into I will walk up the street, then something crazy possessed me and I will RUN up the street.

I haven’t done much running here in Shanghai, a few factors 1. I was afraid I would get lost, it is a rather large city and I am directionally impaired. 2. I have semi-retired from running, I am getting old and my knees really don’t like it. If I do any running which has been less and less, it is 1 mile on the treadmill.

Having a little more sense of direction I headed up the street past the German bakery (I didn’t think my plan through, I didn’t have any money on me for a treat, maybe a good thing) toward People’s Square. I heard about 5 songs on my Ipod, which is probably around 10-12 minutes so I figured I did maybe 1 mile with my turtle pace of a 10:30 mile. Although, when I got back to the apt I was out for 30 min…who knows really then what I did.

The interesting thing, people on the sidewalk stepped aside for me as I was running! It was pretty neat for that never happens. People stand in the middle of the side walk, walk slow, no one cares, everyone just doing their thing. This morning when I was running, they moved! Maybe it was the sight of me, my panting, sweating, maybe they were afraid I would fall down on them, who knows it got people to move out of my way. I think I need to start running everywhere.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. jeff noel
    Apr 01, 2011 @ 10:21:36

    Hope your knees don’t hate you in the morning.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

