Chengdu- Pandas!

Chengdu, China is famous for pandas and the China Research Base of Giant Panda. You can hold pandas there! Chengdu may sound familiar I haven’t watched Kung Fu Panda but I hear he talks about going there or goes there or something like that and in 2008 it was where the earthquake hit China.

We are  going to be opening a center in Chengdu in the near future. In meetings anytime Chengdu is mentioned, I say panda. It goes like this:

Someone in meeting: bra…bra… bra…(Chinese for Blah Blah Blah, see other post)  Chengdu center.

Me: Panda

It has become a game with some of my fellow foreign peers they enjoy working in Chengdu to see if they can catch me to not say it. So far I am pretty good, it is an automatic response, like when someone says How are you? Most respond Fine or Good automatically. Same with me and Chengdu and panda.

I am talking with my coordinator about one of my managers going to take a role in Chengdu. Now, I can’t say panda when I say Chengdu, it has to be someone else. The first thing she says after hearing the news is WOW, he must really like panda. I busted out laughing and couldn’t stop we then of course had a discussion if she has been to Chengdu (she hasn’t) and how you can hold the pandas and how I must do this.

I am sure this is not funny to anyone but me.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Matthew Wilder
    Jun 22, 2011 @ 13:02:10

    I seemed to understand the thought process and got a good laugh out of it.

    Miss ya lots!

    Reply

  2. andrea hendry
    Jun 28, 2011 @ 02:44:14

    OMG – will you go and hold them??? Will you say Panda Panda Panda all day when you’re in Chengdu???

    a

    Reply

Leave a Reply

