Hit By a Car- Seriously

I am fine and at home but I was hit by a car. It has been 1 year and 1 week living in Shanghai. In a way I kind of knew my odds in the Frogger game of traffic were not that great.  I was walking home from work, in the crosswalk, with the green walk signal, with a light cream colored umbrella (it was raining) and a white jacket on and about half way through the crosswalk and I found myself on my back after being hit by a car. I didn’t see the car (it could have came from 1 of 3 directions)  I believe I was hit on my right by the car  and it flipped me on to my left side and back. landing on my elbow and hip/leg. I am grateful for my large American ass for I believe it helped break my fall and saved me from more injury. If it was a skinny minnie who run around here, she may not have been as lucky and broken. I was immediately surrounded by a bunch of people.  Although many wanted me to stay on the ground, I got up thinking laying in the middle of the street is not the best place to be, I believe I could stand and walk. I was mostly scared and shocked about the whole thing. Not shocked for I am not not surprised after  how they drive and the lack of following any sort of traffic rules, I was in shock for being hit by a car. Hit by a car!   I called my friend JP who was still in the office for I just told him I was going home to watch Entourage and told him I was hit by a car. He thought I was joking. Unfortunately not. I was surrounded by people, some spoke English, someone called the police. Everyone is pretty calm, including the man who hit me.  They asked if I wanted to go to the hospital, I called my boss who asked me the same thing, I had no idea what was going on. It was agreed by my bystanders, JP, the policeman and my boss I will go to the hospital. Get this, the man and his car who hit me took us to the hospital! No police or anything, just me, JP and the man who hit me in the assault vehicle.

We go to a local hospital it smells like urine, old folks who didn’t look too goo line the halls it is sad and no one speaks English. My friend JP speaks some Mandarin thank goodness! The guy who hit me talks to the staff, I am brought to a room where I walk past the dying folks. The Dr. comes down, and pokes me, hard in the places that hurts, a model for bedside manor.  We then go to another hospital where x-rays are taken. This hospital is like a horror movie hospital, large, not taken care of, not good lighting and just scary at night, I find it like Alcatraz at night.  No one is around we get my x-rays done as we wait for them to be developed I decide to go to the bathroom, which is not well maintained and has no soap at the sink. A hospital not having soap, good grief. I get lost finding my way back to the waiting area for a good 4-5 laps around the place and the teaser… I discovered this hospital is connected to the International Hospital where I have been before! UGGH. We head back to the other part of the hospital where it is  determined I have no broken bones. This was done with no privacy, other family members and patients waiting decided to take a look at my x-rays as the doctor looked at them. They had nothing else to do.  I am given some medicine for pain, I can’t read the box so I am not going to take them.

We load up into the assault vehicle again and drive over the police station. The man opens the door for JP but I am on my own. We almost turn into a car garage. JP and I start laughing for we both are thinking, is he getting his car checked out for damage? Did my powerful ass damage his car? Then I got mad for is he really concerned about his car? Come to find out the garage is 2 doors down from the police station. At the station my medical report is given to an officer.  As we are waiting, a small group of other people come in. I want to know why.  One man gives his friend and the police officer a cigarette and they have a little smoke break together in the police station.  Should I have given out cigarettes? I didn’t have any to give. I did have some gum from the states I brought back, should I have shared my gum?  The man who hit me writes up a report and they wanted to settle up with me. That is how it is done I am told,  they will give money to settle the accident. I am sure it is a negotiation. We called my boss who is from Shanghai and speaks Chinese and  it was decided  I will write my report next week and  settling then as well.  We load up into the vehicle again (opens JP’s door again) and takes me home. When I get home JP tells me to write up my recollection of what happened for I will need to write a statement (in Chinese) and since it will be a few days away do it while it is still fresh.

I feel sore and bruised and I am upset my white in the style of Alexander McQueen jacket (that is what I call it when I  have it made at the fabric market, it was lovely!) is ruined from my fall on the street but it could have been a lot worse. I couldn’t talk to Todd and tell him about being hit by a car for he was on an airplane flying from Orlando to Houston to talk to a vendor. Darn airlines and their rules about cell phones not that I think it would work that high in the sky but you never know, they work in elevators and caves here in China. Darn time travel time zone changes as well. Before I went to bed I sent him an email letting him know of the evening’s events. To not cause too much alarm I titled the email I am at Home then in the body let him know I was hit by a car walking home from work and OK. Then I cut/pasted my statement for him to read. I am sure that is fun news to hear in an email but I wanted him to know and I couldn’t stay up any longer. Todd is a just the facts kind of guy, no need for the drama and so I am sure he was fine with this for it was just fact, I didn’t talk about my love of my new jacket which has been destroyed which would have been details he was not interested in. I am still sorry my love for the email notification.

I feel fine and will go into work today. When you fall off a bike or a horse they tell you to get back on. I will do the same and walk to work.

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tim Watts
    Sep 21, 2011 @ 09:24:55

    Oh my god, now that is an adventure that you could have done without! I’m so glad that you are ok. I hope you don’t get too sore in the days to come.

    Wow. Heads up!

    Reply

  2. ben - adventureswithben
    Sep 21, 2011 @ 09:39:09

    How much can you settle for?

    Reply

  3. Denise Jean
    Sep 21, 2011 @ 10:13:28

    That sounds so scary. I really hope you are okay and not just being brave. Do you have any pain meds that you can read the bottle?

    Reply

  4. Barbara Skibiski
    Sep 22, 2011 @ 01:47:05

    Rebecca,

    So glad you are in pretty good shape. I heard of your misfortune from your mother first. She needed to tell someone. It helps to share your distressful times. I bet the driver of the vehicle that hit you is talking to his family – maybe not about you but about the vehicle. Take care – wear neon lights!

    Barbara

    Reply

  5. Rick
    Sep 22, 2011 @ 07:03:01

    Hey Rebecca – Have not read your posts for a while and took a look today. Glad to see you are ok. I must say in my 5 years in China I never had to endure that. Just lucky I guess. Took some folks to the local hospitals but never had to be treated. Anyhow I will be in Shanghai with Brenda in early November. We will give you a call and if you are available we will arrange to meet up. Take care and be sure to look both ways and then both ways again.
    Rick

    Reply

  6. Steff
    Sep 22, 2011 @ 23:01:56

    Oh my gosh — I am glad to hear you are ok! I think maybe we should send you one of those crossing guard vests with the reflective tape that you can put on anytime you are crossing the street!! That is just terrible and so horrible to go to a hospital like that — This doctor/vet thinks maybe you should try a vet clinic next time!! Vets tend to have good bedside manner and sounds like they might be cleaner!!! 😉
    In all seriousness I am really glad you are OK

    Reply

  7. Trackback: Walking In The Cross Walk.. | "Knee How" Shanghai
  8. Trackback: When You Have A Porsche… Park It On The Sidewalk. That’s What She Said! | "Knee How" Shanghai
  9. Trackback: Vitamin D Deficiency- The Prescription Vitamin SEA! | "Knee How" Shanghai

Leave a Reply

