Crunchy Clothes

Our new apartment has a washing machine but no dryer. Dryers are not all that common in China, it is popular to let laundry dry in the “sun” all year round, what sun? so this is not unusual but unacceptable for me. I honestly thought the washer in the apt was a washer/dryer combo so didn’t bring it up during apartment negotiation. After one week I am tired of crunchy clothing and towels, it is just not comfortable. We will be purchasing a dryer. I decided to ask the owner of the apartment if he will reimburse us for the purchase and when we move out, it will stay with the apartment. This is a little unheard of after the fact of a contract. You do all your negotiation up front and then it is a done deal. I decided what did I have to lose to ask and if he plans on renting to any other Westerner, good chance they will want a dryer. Good news he said yes and he said yes to adding real outlets in the bathrooms! Currently both bathrooms only have shaver only outlets, seriously. Not even one for a hair dryer.

Here is our new dryer on the kitchen counter. Hard to believe but it is too big to fit in the cabinet or closet without some refurbishments I am sure the owner will not like so it sits now on the kitchen counter. Todd will probably figure something out. He is crafty like that.

Dryer and it is in use!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Terri
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 11:13:00

    I cannot believe how small that is. How can it fit on the couner?…I am with u love my nice soft clothes….warm even better. Thank, God for the new outlets, now you can use your blowdryer in the bathroom.

    Reply

    • Rebecca
      Nov 11, 2011 @ 06:43:13

      Crazy huh? That is like a dryer for the lake house for bathing suits! It can fit a pair of pants and maybe a t-shirt at the same time. It is better than the alternative, crunchy clothing, I just have to plan when I dry things.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

