Memory Triggers

As I walked through a metro station recently, I was instantly transported back to a warm autumn afternoon spent in the English Garden in Munich.

This past September, Rebecca and I went to Munich. We had lunch at the biergarten next to the Chinese Tower (how appropriate, I know). The weather was gorgeous, the food was tasty, and the beer was delicious. After lunch we wandered up to the Monopteros, a Greek-style stone temple at the top of a small hill. There were a few people sitting around enjoying the view, but mostly listening to this guy belt out some Coldplay. It was just him and his guitar. What he lacked in talent, he made up for with enthusiasm and volume. We made our way to the base of the hill, and I proceeded to take a little nap on the soft grass, enjoying the warm sun. Meanwhile, above our heads the sounds of Clocks by Coldplay radiated out in all their off-key glory.

Back here in the Shanghai Metro, there is a jumbo TV screen advertising everything from cooking oil to the new Toy Story Land at Hong Kong Disneyland. In the rotation of ads is one for some beverage that uses the distinctive melody from Clocks. I have heard it a couple times, and when I do, I am immediately taken back to warm autumn sun and the cool grass in Munich. Brings a smile to my face and warms my heart.

Leave a Reply

