Tongli- Home of China’s Sex Museum

I warn this post contains photos of ancient, erotic art.

On a weekend trip to Suzhou, we went on a 45 minute drive to Tongli, a little water town over 1,000 years old. It is beautiful with canals and bridges. In this 24 square miles (62 square kilometers) town is China’s Sex Museum it is China’s first and only sex museum with over 1,600 relics some that are over 9,000 years old with some being graded as “nation’s treasure of cultural relics” I believe that means old, important and a big deal. No judging, of course if you are in the town, you must go see the museum, it is China’s only. I don’t know how many the US happens to have but here there is one.

What did I learn from this museum, well, sex has been around a long time, so has homosexuality. *Gasp* I know, I know, even before chicken sandwiches and books which I think the Chinese invented.

The museum is housed in beautiful buildings, an old school I heard with a garden with stone carvings of the erotic nature. It was all very interesting can’t say I have seen anything like it. If in the area, take a trip I wouldn’t recommend a special trip out just for the museum unless it is your thing.

I didn’t take photos inside for there were rules stated no photographs but here is a site that has some photos of what was on display on the inside Warning Erotic Art.

Leave a Reply

