Convenience Store Snacks on a Stick in Goodness

What to choose?

Convenience stores like Family Mart, 7-11, All Days, etc. have particular smells when you enter. I believe the smell comes from the ready to eat food offerings available in the various liquid goodness.  I can’t get over the smell so I don’t see myself trying and of these treats but they are pretty popular  I see many people eating them on the street and in the metro. Which one would you eat? Has anyone tried these?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mark
    Aug 21, 2012 @ 15:35:09

    When I lived in Tokyo, it’s pretty much the same thing…looks very similar to what the Japanese put into ‘oden’, a kind of soup that’s popular during the winter. If you are germaphobic, steer clear, as I’ve heard that many places never/rarely change the broth, and that once someone saw a fly land into the broth, only to have the manager ‘discreetly’ scoop the fly out (what’s the deal with all the open containers, and yet people cover their mouths when they’re outside).

    Oh, the taste and texture of most of that stuff…it’s a bit spongy, and meaty…kinda like a soggy corn dog. I love oden, but never tried the open ones in 7-11, Family Mart in Japan or here in China.

    Reply

  2. Rebecca
    Aug 21, 2012 @ 21:54:41

    Mark thanks for sharing your insights. Of course the fly was fished out, 10 second rule right? The mask wearing but nose picking still baffles me. I am headed to Japan next month good to know the comforts of China I will be able to find in an emergency at Family Mart. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

