Tide Laundry Pods Are Very Confusing

On our recent hoarding trip to the USA, we brought back Tide Laundry Pods. Laundry stuff from the US makes me happy. It has a nice smell, products in China the smell is just not the same. I think it is cultural.  Like tastes in food and fashion, our smell preferences and Chinese smell tastes are different. I love Pods, if you haven’t tried them they are detergent, stain remover, and brighter all in one colorful little pod and makes laundry smell nice.

We were stopped coming through Customs on arrival in Shanghai. I think it may have been my 2 large gray bins that caused alarm. It was a practical way of getting purchases from Costco to travel and reminded me of my days in retail  Our luggage was put through the x-ray and we were asked to open a bin, the one with the Tide Pods in them (along with other H&B items like toothpaste, deodorant, and such). These were a source of concern and interest. The best part was watching Todd trying to explain what they are, it is like watching a game of charades. 5 Custom agents came over and checked the scene out and we allowed to pass through with our bags of Tide Pods. Good job Todd.

When I unpacked I left the bag of Pods on the counter by the washing machine. We have a new Ayi and I learned she likes to put things away that are on the counter. Here is where I found them when I came home.

“Todd, please get me a Coke Zero from the Fridge and some Pods”

I didn’t think she would move them but I should have left a note.  I figured the next time I saw her I would conduct a laundry training session on how to use the Pods.  Good thing she doesn’t cook for us or we may have had Pod soup for dinner.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Denise Jean
    Oct 09, 2012 @ 08:22:47

    They are confusing here too. Poisoning children because they think they are candy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

