Express Lane-Urinating Only!

Using public bathrooms in China can be an experience. I do try to avoid it at all costs because you never know what you are going to get (squat toilets) or the condition of the place. Usually there is no toilet paper, BYOTP is the name of the game and although there will be sinks and even hoses to wash your feet there will be no soap. While in Beijing, I decided to use a public bathroom and I will say something that is very rare when it comes to public restrooms in China, I am so glad I did! Look at this gem of an experience, there were 6-7 stalls reserved as an express lane for urinating only (practical). When you go inside the express door, no squat toilets but a long  along metal trough on the floor, at a slight angle, and you squatted over and contributed to a communal river of pee!  My tip for anyone who faces a similar situation go to the first door as you enter because you are where the river starts.

For Urinating Only!

For Urinating Only!

Pee me a river (BTW I am just standing over it it is not an action shot!)

Pee me a river (BTW I am just standing over it it is not an action shot!)

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shelli
    Dec 15, 2013 @ 09:50:52

    Okay…almost did a spit-take on that last one. China might be a fabulous place to visit…but I’ll only ever know about it from your posts. I’d rather go to Switzerland! At least, those “adventures in plumbing” leave me fascinated rather than disgusted!

    Reply

  2. Terry & Patty Morgan
    Dec 15, 2013 @ 22:06:34

    You are so funny, we love reading your descriptive posts. Makes us LOL every time we read one. Keep’em coming!!

    Reply

  3. mldejesus70
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 18:20:23

    I have not discovered the pee river in Shanghai yet! How convenient and somehow, a bit more sanitary that most of the squatties I’ve seen!

    Reply

  4. roma1912
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 21:25:25

    Was in China for 2 weeks I had thigh muscles to die for when I got home due to squat toilets 🙂

    Reply

    • Rebecca
      Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:19:27

      I wish my thighs would appreciate these toilets! I think it may help if I start using them…. I do avoid at all cost but can do it if required!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

