Huh? Chinglish On Our Building Door

Huh?

Huh?

I love Chinglish. It makes me happy, laugh, smile and is so surprising that it is still around with all the native or native like English speaking foreigners in town. They can’t hire someone to proofread? I know there are a lot of tai tais (wife who doesn’t work because 1. too rich and why work? 2. wife of an expat who has a job who is a trailing spouse ) and guy tais (husbands who wife is an expat and is the trailing spouse) looking for work.  Then again, who am I to say anything, my grammar and typos are bad. Chinglish often comes from a direct translation (see why I quit Mandarin lessons? It is too hard to my brain makes no sense and you need to say something like this in Chinese for someone to understand) and the result, a hot mess. Speaking of a mess… this beauty was on our apartment building door. Now, I give them props for realized that some foreigners are living here and made an effort to communicate. However, what does this even mean?!? I hope it is not intended for us because I have no idea what they are saying.  Wonder if I should put a similar sign regarding spitting? I think to not spit would be an effort of civility and act of civilized people. Maybe this sign is about spitting on the flowers aka the water?

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. John Skibiski
    Apr 21, 2014 @ 08:15:54

    Hi Becky…….great reading, we here spent Easter today with your parents and Jessica and Barbara at the Munich Haus in Chicopee for dinner…..was wonderful. Wishing you both well, John & Ann

    Reply

  2. Paige
    Apr 22, 2014 @ 02:55:11

    If you find out what it means, let us know!

    Reply

    • Rebecca
      Apr 30, 2014 @ 08:25:05

      I think… guessing… someone threw water (or something)out their window and it may have hit someone and prompted the need to put up a sign.

      Reply

  3. Ben L.
    Apr 22, 2014 @ 21:08:45

    That sign makes perfect sense: Please spit directly onto the flowers. (no arch to your spit, just bend at the waist and shoot straight down)
    Next photo I expect to see, Rebecca, is you performing your civil duty at your apartment complex exactly as the landlord has requested.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

